Transformation Tuesday (NEDAwareness 2015, Day 3)

Lots of people have taken to social media this week to share their #transformationtuesday photos of themselves before and after recovery, which is great for them!  I’m really proud each time I see a photo like that and wish them all the best.

Personally, I’m choosing not to share full-body shots of myself at the worst of my ED.  I’ve removed them from Facebook and even deleted them from my personal archives because I don’t want myself or anyone else to be triggered or to set a “goal” based on a time when I was very, very sick.

I do acknowledge the power of a good visual, though, so I’m sharing one here: the transformation of my smile, from the super early stages of my recovery to moments when I wasn’t worried at all.  Obviously, there have been ups and downs and smiles and tears in between these photos, but I think it’s still a valuable reminder of what a joy it is when your joy goes past moving the right muscles in your mouth and becomes a light in your eyes as well.  (Okay, I know the last one isn’t technically a smile, but it was a moment of joy and I am trying to express myself here)

126 4 357

Published by

Olivia Grace

"Why am I afraid to dance, I who love music and rhythm and grace and song and laughter? Why am I afraid to live, I who love life and the beauty of the flesh and the living colors of the earth and sky and sea? Why am I afraid to love, I who love Love?" -- Eugene O'Neill a recovery blog through ballet-tinted glasses

One thought on “Transformation Tuesday (NEDAwareness 2015, Day 3)”

Leave a comment